Tags

By Robert Morales

Sports Writer, Long Beach Press-Telegram

Covering the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach is always an arduous task, but it is also my most rewarding assignment every year.

Since I basically do features all week beginning Monday of race week, part of it is getting these IndyCar drivers on the phone because they don’t get to town until mid-week. Great contacts play a big role in this regard.

This year’s coverage was a bit more difficult than usual because for the first time I was also in charge of coordinating stories, etc., for our annual Grand Prix special section. With solid contributions from reporters David Felton, Keith Lair and Bob Keisser, it went very well.

It’s probably my hardest week-plus of sports reporting during a given year, and sometimes I don’t know how I/we get it all done. It’s one of those things where you put your nose to the grindstone, and it gets done. Very gratifying, indeed, especially because IndyCar drivers are some of the coolest characters with whom to work.